Annual Awards

The Annual Awards were established in 2014. It is an opportunity to recognise the achievements and contributions of players, officials and instances over the past year.
All players affiliated to the Association are entitled to submit, via their club, three nominations in each of the contested categories. The final nominees are then voted on by an Awards Panel to determine the eventual winners.


Most Promising Player (Dave & Monika Gibbons Trophy) - Awarded to Male or Female that has been bowling for 5 or less (or an experienced bowler that has shown significant improvement), who has displayed the skill, determination & commitment to achieve at National level.

Female Bowler of the Year (Gardiner Trophy) - Awarded to Best female Bowler in the country over the preceding year.

Male Bowler of the Year (Norman Essaufrau Trophy) - Best male Bowler in the country over the preceding year.

Team of the Year (Gerhard Stehle Trophy) - Team with consistently good performance & spirit as well as notable achievements.

Sportsmanship Award (NBA Trophy) - Player or Official who upholds the values of the Sport (both on the green and in the club house).

Contribution to Bowls - Player, Official or Instance recognised for their service and/or contribution to Bowls in Namibia.


Dave & Monika Gibbons Trophy

2014 - Anjuleen Viljoen, 2015 - Amanda Steenkamp, 2016 - Carel 'Cabous' Olivier, 2017 - Schalk van Wyk, 2018 - Huipie van Wyk

Gardiner Trophy

2014 - Sheena du Toit, 2015 - Marietjie van den Bergh, 2016Marietjie van den Bergh, 2017 Lesley Vermeulen, 2018Marietjie van den Bergh

Norman Essaufrau Trophy

2014 - Will Esterhuizen, 2015 - Will Esterhuizen, 2016 - Axel Krahenbuhl, 2017 - Will Esterhuizen, 2018 - Will Esterhuizen

Gerhard Stehle Trophy

2014 - AST Namibia Men's Team, 2015 - Namibia Men's Pairs Team, 2016 - Namibia Ladies Triples Team (shared), 2016 - Rossmund Ladies Fours Team (shared), 2017 - AST Namibia Men's Team2018 - AST Namibia Ladies Team

NBA Trophy

2014 - Ekkie Gaertner & Erna Mueller (Shared), 2015 - Alexander 'Sandy' Joubert, 2016 - Vivien Potgieter, 2017 - Marietjie van den Bergh, 2018 - Colin Peake

Contribution to Bowls

2014Alexander 'Sandy' Joubert (shared), 2014Tollie Cronje (shared), 2015Desmond van der Smit, 2016 - Desmond van der Smit, 2017 - Vivien Potgieter (shared), 2017 - Poena Olivier (shared), 2017 - Ian Crawford (shared), 2017 - Sandy Joubert (shared), 2017 - Desmond van der Smit (shared), 2018 - Ellen Geyser